[Overview] [Presentations] [Workshops] [Art Events]


7th International Symposium on Electronic Art [ISEA96]

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
September 16-20, 1996

Presented by the ISEA96 Foundation consisting of representants of the Inter-Society for the Electronic Arts, ISEA-NL foundation, Paradox and V2, in co-operation with Rotterdam Festivals.


The ISEA96 conference, main art exhibition and the Electronic Theater were held at the Rotterdam World Trade Centre. Workshops were given at the Rotterdam Music Conservatory and the Netherlands Design Institute (Amsterdam). The night of Concerts & Performances took place at the Auditorium of the Rotterdam Music Conservatory. The official welcoming reception was held at the Rotterdam Town Hall, hosted by the Rotterdam Alderman of Culture, Hans Kombrink. Because ISEA96 co-incided and co-operated with the R96 Festival ‘Digital Territories’ (Rotterdam Festivals) and the Dutch Electronic Art Festival (V2), a large number of electronic art related activities took place simulaneously, spread over town.

Low res version of ISEA96 Animated Intro 


Japanese electronic art was a thread through ISEA96. Supported by the Japan Foundation the following artists presented:

  • Masaki Fujuhata and Erina Kashihara (Art Exhibition)
  • Yoshihuro Ohtani and Mari Kimura (Concerts)
  • Naoko Tosa and Toshiya Ueno (Conference & Art Exhibition)

Associated Events

Introductory & Closing Notes


Committee of Recommendation

  • P.W.C. Akkermans [1942 – 2002] (Rector Magnificus, Erasmus University Rotterdam)
  • C. Dercon (Director, Boymans-Van Beuningen Museum, Rotterdam)
  • C.O.A. Schimmelpennink van der Oije (Director, Rotterdam Historical Museum)

Board of ISEA96 Foundation

  • Theo Hesper (Inter-Society for the Electronic Arts)
  • Wim van der Plas (ISEA-NL)
  • Bas Vroege (Paradox)

Organising Committee

  • Wimfred Grashoff: Executive Director (1996)
  • Wim van der Plas: Executive Director (1995), Programme Chair (1996)
  • Rick Terlouw: Secretariat
  • Heidi van der Plas: Secretariat
  • Karin van Stijn: Conference Coordinator
  • Odrada Burghoorn: Exhibition Coordinator
  • Raymond van Vliet: Exhibition Coordinator
  • Michael Roetto: Technical Coordinator
  • Karlijn Ernst: Publicity
  • Daniëlle Rungs: Sponsoring
  • John van der Hulst: Production Assistant
  • Gerd Westendorp: Webmaster
  • Marcel Kaars: Concerts & Performances
  • Alex Schaub: Concerts & Performances
  • Jip Vermond: Design
  • Michael Josias: Design
  • Nadine Salas: General Assistant
  • Anniek van Anraad: General Assistant
  • Fred Sophie: General Assistant
  • Jacqueline Vreds: General Assistant
  • Esther Tap: General Assistant
  • Titia Fuchs: Advisor
  • Anne de Haa: Publications
  • David de Roos: Trouble Shooter

International Programme Committee

  • Peter Beyls (Belgium), St. Lukas College
  • Paul Brown (UK/Australia), Griffith University
  • Thijs Chanowski (Netherlands), BSO Medialab
  • Rene Coelho (Netherlands), Montevideo/Time Based Arts
  • Achamyeleh Debela (Ethiopia), NCC University
  • Anton van Gemert (Netherlands), Rotterdam Art School
  • Michael Girard (USA), Unreal Pictures
  • Craig Harris (USA), International Computer Music Association
  • Theo Hesper (Netherlands/Indonesia), Inter-Society for the Electronic Arts
  • Raymond Lauzzana (USA), Languages of Design
  • Pierre Levy (France), Universite de Paris
  • Thomas Linehan (USA), CRSS Architects
  • Roger Malina (USA), ISAST/Leonardo
  • Alain Mongeau (Canada), Daniel Langois Foundation
  • Jos de Mul (Netherlands), Erasmus University Rotterdam
  • Cynthia Rubin (USA), University of Vermont
  • Joel Ryan (USA/Netherlands), Institute for Sonology
  • Keisuke Oki (Japan), Artist
  • Christine Schopf (Austria), Ars Electronica
  • Roman Verostko (USA), Minneapolis College of Art & Design
  • John Vince (UK), Thompson Simulation Systems
  • Iannis Xenakis (Greece/France), Composer
  • Siegfried Zielinski (Germany), Kunsthochschule fur Medien Koln

Sponsors and Subsidising Organisations

ISEA96 was supported by (among many others): Rotterdam City Development (OBR), Rotterdam Festivals, Mondriaan Foundation and a number of other subsidisers and sponsors.


  • Ontwikkelingsbedrijf Rotterdam
  • Mondriaan Stichting
  • Rotterdamse Kunststichting
  • Kunstzaken Gemeente Rotterdam
  • Stichting PWT
  • R96 Festival


  • Capsulam Plastificeertechniek
  • EIDOS Technologies
  • ZETA Electric Sound
  • Intergraph Computer Systems
  • Socrates
  • Wouter Willers Architecture
  • Internet Providers Rotterdam
  • Mazzo Video
  • Kitt Engineering
  • Acal
  • v2
  • Rotterdams Conservatorium
  • Dress to Express
  • Yamaha
  • WDS
  • Infusion Systems
  • TIM voor kantoor
  • Valkieser
  • Hewlett Packard
  • Softimage
  • Hogeschool Rotterdam en Omstreken
  • Kuub 3
  • Nederlands Vormgevingsinstituut
  • World Wide Video Centre
  • lnstituut van Sonologie
  • Erasmus Universiteit Rotterdam
  • Studium Generale
  • Museum van Volkenkunde Rotterdam
  • Nederlands Congresbureau
  • Kunstacademie Den Haag


  1. Proceedings (PDF)
  2. Final Programme/Book of Abstracts/Catalogue (PDF)
  3. ISEA96 CD-ROM
  4. Photos
  5. Artefacts