[ISEA2016] Curators Statement: Katharina Gsollpointner, Ruth Schnell, Romana Schuler, Jeffrey Shaw & Peter Weibel (Curators) — Digital Synesthesia

Curators Statement 

ISEA2016 Parallel Programme. Presented at ISEA2016 in cooperation with CityU School of Creative Media. Exhibition venue: City University of Hong Kong

The Digital Synesthesia exhibition is shown at ISEA2016 in Hong Kong from May 17 to 22, 2016. The show is on display at City University Hong Kong which has been a co-operation partner of the Vienna based research project.

A Preview Reception was organised on May 16, with a Welcoming Address by Michael Kratzer, acting Consul General of Austria and introductions by Ruth Schnell and Romana Schuler.

In the frame of ISEA2016 in Hong Kong the Digital Synesthesia exhibition presents 14 artworks by Digital Synesthesia artists Anke Eckardt, Karl Heinz Jeron, kondition pluriel (Martin Kusch / Marie-Claude Poulin), Alan Kwan, Karen Lancel / Hermen Maat, Marcello Mercado, Ulla Rauter, Ruth Schnell, Jeffrey Shaw / Sarah Kenderdine, David Strang / Vincent Van Uffelen, Tamiko Thiel / Christoph Reiserer and Peter Weibel.The show is on display at City University Hong Kong which has been a cooperation partner of the Vienna based research project.

The three-year arts-based research project Digital Synesthesia (2013 – 2016) has been organized by the Department of Digital Art at the University of Applied Arts Vienna, Austria.
The inter- and trans-disciplinary project aimed at the exploration of the synesthetic capabilities of digital art and focused on its technological, medial and aesthetic conditions, which can provoke synesthetic experiences for non-synesthetes. Asa result, fourteen digital artworks of seventeen internationally renowned artists have been produced and now are presented in this ISEA2016 exhibition, either in their original or documentary versions.

Exhibition Concept: Katharina Gsollpointner, Ruth Schnell, Romana Schuler
Exhibition Design: Wolfgang Fiel

Curatorial Board:

  • Katharina Gsöllpointner
  • Ruth Schnell
  • Romana Schuler
  • Jeffrey Shaw
  • Peter Weibel

Supported by the Austrian Embassy