[Overview] [Presentations] [Workshops] [Art Events]


Second International Symposium on Electronic Art [SISEA]

Groningen, The Netherlands
November 11-16, 1990

Presented by the Groningen University for Applied Sciences (Rijkshogeschool Groningen, RHG)


SISEA was organized by the Groningen University for Applied Sciences (Rijkshogeschool Groningen, RHG), in particular the departments for Visual Arts (Academie Minerva) and Music (Groningen Music Conservatory) and SCAN, the National Center for Computer Animation. SCAN started in 1988 as a post-academic education and research institute for computer animation and later became the Masters department of the RHG Art and Music Departments, under the name Frank Mohr Institute.

The ISEA conference, main art exhibition and the night of Concerts & Performances as well as the Film & Video Show were held in the Oosterpoort, the main Conference & Theater center of the city of Groningen.

Workshops were held both at SCAN and at the Music Conservatory. Several events were organised in public space, like in the temporary ‘Video Pavilion’ of architect Bernard Tschumi and on a large electronic public display on the central city square.

Opening & Closing Sessions

  • Welcome by Henk Pijlman, Alderman of Culture, City of Groningen
  • Welcome by C.L.H.B. Verstegen, Chairman of the Board of the Groningen University of Applied Sciences
  • Official Reception at the Groningen County House, hosted by Henk Vonhoff, the Queen’s Commisioner in the Province of Groningen
  • Closing Remarks by Michael Girard (SCAN)


Organizing Committee

  • Wim van der Plas, Executive Director
  • Eric Kluitenberg, Artistic Director
  • Ben Warner, General Advisor

Committee of Recommendation

  • Henk Vonhoff, the Queen’s Commissioner in the Province of Groningen
  • Jos Staatsen, Mayor of the City of Groningen
  • Arie van der Zwan, Leading Economist

International Program Committee

  • Virginia Barratt (Australia), Australian Network for Art & Technology (ANAT)
  • Francois Bayle (France), Institute National de l’Audiovisuel (INA
  • Paul Berg, (NL/USA) Computer Music Association
  • Jurgen Claus (W. Germany/Belgium), Massachusetts Institute of Technology (M.I.T.)
  • Donna Cox (USA), SIGGRAPH
  • Charles Csuri (USA), Ohio State University
  • Michael Girard (NL/USA), SCAN
  • Theo Hesper (NL), Foundation for Creative Computer Applications (SCCA)
  • Felix Hess (NL), Rijksuniversiteit Groningen (RUG)
  • Yoichiro Kawaguchi (Japan), Nippon Electronics College
  • John Lansdown (UK), Middlesex Polytechic/Computer Arts Society)
  • Raymond Lauzzana (USA), Arts, Science & Technology Network (ASTN)
  • Tom Linehan (USA), Texas A&M University
  • Roger Malina (USA), International Society for the Arts, Science & Technology (ISAST)
  • Kees van Overveld (NL), Eindhoven University
  • Stephen Pope (USA), Computer Music Journal
  • Christine Schopf (Austria), Ars Electronica


  1. Proceedings (PDF)
  2. Call_for_Papers_&_Participation (PDF)
  3. Final Programme/Book of Abstracts/Catalogue
  4. Photo Gallery
  5. Artefacts