[Overview] [Presentations] [Workshops] [Art Events]


8th International Symposium on Electronic Art [ISEA97]

Chicago, USA
September 22-27, 1997

Presented by the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. 


The ISEA97 conference and workshops took place at the Art Institute of Chicago. The main art exhibition was held in a 2000 square meter space at 847 W. Jackson Boulevard, other exhibits at the Electronic Visualization Lab, Museum of Contemporary Art (MCA), the Betty Rymer Gallery, the Chicago Cultural Center and other venues. Concerts, Performances and Screenings were given at several locations, a.o. the MCA Auditorium.  An Opening Event was staged with a concert by Laurie Anderson. A Reception took place in Celebration of 30 Years of the Journal Leonardo.

Introductory Notes


Organizing Committee

  • Shawn Decker, ISEA97 Chair
  • Michael Rodemer, Academic Program Committee Chair
  • Joelle Rabion, Conference Coordinator

Honorary Board

  • Laurie Anderson, artist, US
  • Kevin Consey, director, Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago, US
  • Richard Daley, Mayor, City of Chicago, US
  • and others

International Program Committee

  • Joel Chadabe (USA), Electronic Music Foundation
  • Susan Alexis Collins (UK), University College London
  • Monika Fleiscmann (Germany), GMD Forschungszentrum Informationstechnik
  • Rafael Lozano-Hemmer (Mexico/Canada), Artist
  • Kathy Rae Huffman (USA), Curator
  • Shinsuke Ina (Japan), Kyoto Seika University
  • Peter Krapp (Germany), University of Konstanz
  • Richard Lerman (USA), Arizona State University
  • Geert Lovink (Netherlands), Theorist
  • Roger Malina (USA), ISAST/Leonardo
  • Denis Martineau (Canada)
  • Suzy Meszoly (Hungary)
  • Alain Mongeau (Canada), Inter-Society for the Electronic Arts
  • Graham Parker (UK), Manchester Metropolitan University
  • Marjorie Perloff (USA), Stanford University
  • Wim van der Plas (Netherlands), Inter-Society for the Electronic Arts
  • Philippe Queau (Canada), UNESCO
  • Joel Slayton (USA), San Jose State University
  • Rejane Spitz (Brasil), Pontificia Universidade Catolica do Rio de Janeiro
  • Linda Sproul (Australia), Museum of Victoria
  • Heidi Tikka (Finland), Museum of Art & Design Helsinki
  • Roman Verostko (USA), Minneapolis College of Art & Design


  1. Proceedings (PDF)
  2. Photos
  3. Artefacts