[Overview] [Presentations] [Workshops] [Art Events]


6th International Symposium on Electronic Art [ISEA95]

Montreal, Canada
September 17-24, 1995

Presented by Société des Arts Technologiques [SAT] 


The ISEA95 conference was held at the Montreal Conference Centre and Hotel Le Meridien. Workshops took place at McGill University, Universite de Montreal, Concorde University, GRAFF Galery, Espace Libre, Centre NAD, La Centrale and CEGEP Maisonneuve. The main ISEA95 exhibitions were held at Ecole Cherrier and the Gallerie de l’UQAM. Concerts and Performances were given at The Spectrum (also the ISEA95 ‘night club’), Place des Arts and the Musee de l’Art Contemporaine. The opening event took place at Buckminster Fuller’s Bio Sphere.

ISEA95 was supported by (among many others): Concordia University, McGill University, Universite de Montreal, Universite de Quebec (UQAM), the University of Vermont, Ministere de Patrimoine, Ministere des Resources Humaine, Centre for Innovation in Information Technology (CITI) and Conseil de Recherche en Sciences Humaines (CRSH).

Introductory Notes (Opening Ceremonie at the Bio Sphere):

  • Luc Courchesne (Artistic director ISEA95) — Introduction of speakers
  • Martin Cauchon (Deputy of the Federal Government, on behalf of Jean Chrétien, Prime Minister of Canada) — Welcome
  • Jacques Parizeau (Prime Minister of Québec) — Welcome
  • Louise Beaudoin (Minister of Culture and Communications of Quebec)Welcome
  • Pierre Bourque (Mayor of Montreal) — Welcome
  • Videocreature (intermezzo)
  • Wim van der Plas — About The Inter-Society for the Electronic Arts
  • Itsuo Sakane — Testimonium of Expo 67
  • Alain Mongeau & Monique Savoie — ISEA95

with works by Jon McCormack and Charles de Mestral


hosted by Suzanne Hurtubise, Deputy Minister, Department of Canadian Heritage, in the Salon des Arts, Meridien Hotel


Organizing Committee

  • Alain Mongeau, Programme Director
  • Monique Savoie, Executive Director
  • Nancy Tobin, Production Director

Steering Committee

  • Louise Poissant
  • Henry See
  • Luc Courchesne
  • Denis Martineau

International Program Committee

  • Roy Ascott (UK)
  • Paul Brown (UK/Australia)
  • Hank Bull (Canada)
  • Jurgen Claus (Germany/Belgium)
  • Sara Diamond (Canada)
  • Anne-Marie Duguet (France)
  • Vera Frenkel (Canada)
  • Craig Harris (USA)
  • Theo Hesper (Netherlands/Indonesia)
  • Derrick de Kerckhove (Belgium/Canada)
  • Robin King (UK/Canada)
  • Machiko Kusahara (Japan)
  • Roger Malina (USA), ISAST/Leonardo
  • Joelle Metzger (France)
  • Simon Penny (Australia/USA)
  • Wim van der Plas (Netherlands)
  • Rejane Spitz (Brasil)
  • Minna Tarkka (Finland)
  • Roman Verostko (USA)
  • Gary Warner (Australia)


  1. Proceedings (PDF)
  2. Final Programme & Book of Abstracts (PDF)
  3. Advance Programme (PDF)