[Overview] [Presentations] [Workshops] [Art Events]


First International Symposium on Electronic Art [FISEA]

Utrecht, Netherlands
27-30 Sept, 1988

Presented by the Foundation for Creative Computer Applications (SCCA), Rotterdam and the Center for Art, Media and Technology of the Utrecht Academy of Arts (HKU).


The initiative for the International Symposium on Electronic Art was taken by Theo Hesper, founder and board member of the SCCA.  The First ISEA Symposium took place in Utrecht, The Netherlands, with satellite activities in the cities of Groningen and The Hague. The main conference and the art exhibition were held in the Jaarbeurs, one of the Netherlands’ major trade market and convention centers. Workshops were given at locations of the Utrecht Scool of Arts, concerts & performances at several Utrecht theaters. An excursion was undertaken to the Omnimax Theater in The Hague, to witness the results of a competition to produce Omnimax format 3-D animations. During the symposium the new Center for Art, Media and Technology of the HKU was officially opened. The program in Groningen included a lecture on fractal art by Prof. Heinz Otto Peitgen of the Institute of Complex Dynamics at the University of Bremen. Several panel discussions were planned, amongst others, on the relationship between electronic mass-media and art and the use of computers in the process of composing today, these were followed by a concert of computer music. Several art schools presented their computer activities to the public. An elaborate interactive video installation by the artist Fritz Maats was installed. During FISEA a plenary meeting was held to discuss the founding of an umbrella organisation for the Electronic Arts. The name Inter-Society for the Electronic Arts was coined and it was later (1990) founded as a membership association by Theo Hesper and Wim van der Plas.

Welcoming Notes


Organizing Committee

  • Johan den Biggelaar, Chairman
  • Ton Hokken, Chairman
  • Wim van der Plas, Advisor

International Program Committee

  • Paul Berg (Netherlands)
  • Frederik van der Blij (Netherlands)
  • Wim Bijleveld (Netherlands)
  • Wim Crouwel (Netherlands)
  • Charles A. Csuri (U.S.A.)
  • Herbert W. Franke (Fed. Rep. Germany)
  • Theo Hesper (Netherlands)
  • Robin G. King (Canada)
  • John Lansdown (U.K.)
  • Thomas E. Linehan (U.S.A.)
  • Tod Machover (U.S.A.)
  • Nadia Megnenat-Thalmann (Canada)
  • Roger F. Malina (U.S.A.)
  • Jean-Claude Risset (France)
  • Itsuo Sakane (Japan)
  • John Vince (U.K.)
  • Iannis Xenakis (France)

Committee of Recommendation

  • E. van Spiegel, Director General Science Policy, Ministry of Education and Sciences
  • A. J. van der Staay, Director, National Social and Cultural Planning Bureau
  • M. W. M. Vos-van Gortel, Mayor of Utrecht

Informal Get Together

  • Reception and Presentation: Research in Art and Technology by Thomas Linehan and John Chowning in the new Center for Art, Media & Technology in Utrecht.


  1. Proceedings (PDF)
  2. Call for Papers & Participation
  3. Photos
  4. Artefacts