[ISEA2016] Curator Statement: Maurice Benayoun (Curator) — Hong Kong Open Sky Project ISEA2016 Hong Kong 香港 Project for ICC

Curator Statement

ISEA2016 Hong Kong in partnership with the Open Sky Project – a collaborative project between City University of Hong Kong’s School of Creative Media and International Commerce Centre (Sun Hung Kai Properties) – offered an opportunity for artists to present their video projects on the 77,000 sqm of urban media screen that makes up the façade of the highest tower in Hong Kong : the ICC (484m). The open call is a joint project between ISEA2016 SCM Open Sky Project and Human Vibrations exhibition/HKADC.

We are happy to announce that 73 anonymized artworks were reviewed by a board of 11 international expert juries through which we have selected 6 Official selections. Due to the quality of the submission, the Jury agreed to awarding 22 Honorable Mentions for ISEA2016 Open Sky Call.

Official Selections

  1. Laurent Mignonneau & Christa Sommerer – Fly High – Time Flies
  2. Dorothy Wong, Chung Ka Hei & Pan Shi Hang – City Paths
  3. Clea T. Waite – Big Moon Hong Kong
  4. Genetic Moo – Open Sky Etude
  5. Marcel Schwittlick & Thomas Heidtmann – Berlin Calling
  6. Luke Pendrell – Superluminal

Honorable Mentions

  1. Mariana Carranza – Following Bees
  2. Peter Williams – 818 Cubed
  3. Lei Pui Weng, Jay – Food Chain
  4. Elena Knox – Beholder
  5. David Fodel – The Bones
  6. Will Hurt – Formal Movement
  7. H2o(Harry Hung) & Catqu – Inevitable Death of the Universe
  8. Hye Yeon Nam – Wonderland
  9. Henrik Elburn – Tentative
  10. OUCHHH Studio (Eylul Duranagac) – CONNECT
  11. Eylul Dogruel – Lisa
  12. Cedric van Eenoo – Untitled
  13. Erik Adigard, M-A-D – Counterpolis
  14. Justin Harvey – Blurred Lines
  15. Sean Clute – Dancing Ellipses
  16. Stéphanie Morissette – The Vultures
  17. Lo Yeung Man Teddy – Spectrum Manners II
  18. OiOi Collective (Sami Kamppi) – Awakening
  19. Sala Wong – If you are happy, clap your hands
  20. Jinsil Hwaryoung Seo – Immersed
  21. Michael Hawksworth – Flight
  22. Cynthia Beth Rubin – Antarctica Underwater

Doo Eun Choi, Independent curator and art consultant; Visiting faculty at Parsons the New School for Design
Nina Colosi, Curator and founder of Streaming Museum
Caroline Ha Thuc, Curator and art writer; Curator of the Human Vibration exhibition Hong Kong
Ellen Pau, Independent cinematographer, curator, teacher and filmmaker; Co-founder of Videotage, Microwave International New Media Arts Festival
Christian Paul, Associate Professor at The New School; Adjunct Curator of new media arts at Whitney Museum of American Art
Susa Pop, Urban Media curator, founder of Public Art Lab (PAL) – Connecting Cities, Media Facades Festivals Berlin 2008 and Europe 2010
Jeffrey Shaw, Media artist; Artistic Director of ISEA2016; Chair Professor, School of Creative Media, CityU HK
Tony W M Tang, Deputy Project Director of Harbour Vantage Management Ltd., Deputy Director of Architectural Design, Sun Hung Kai, and Vice President of Hong Kong Institute of Architects
Tanya Toft, Curator, researcher and lecturer on Urban digital art; Curatorial Advisor for Verve Cultural in Sao Paolo; Associate Curator for Streaming Museum
Li Zhenhua, Curator, Art Basel Hong Kong video program
Maurice Benayoun, Head of Open Sky Project, Chair of ISEA2016 Special events; Media artist; Curator and Professor at School of Creative Media, CityU HK

Special thank you to
School of Creative Media, City University of Hong Kong
Hong Kong Arts Development Council
Sun Hung Kai Properties


  • Maurice Benayoun (FR/HK), School of Creative Media, City University of Hong Kong, HK